navigation barU.S. Diplomatic Mission to GermanyAbout the USASitemapSearch


Facts & Figures:
Revolution and Independence


(total number)


2 148 000


3 929 200


7 239 900

Population 1630 - 2000
Immigration 1821 - 2004



The original thirteen colonies were: Virginia (1607), Massachusetts (1620), New York (1626), Maryland (1633), Rhode Island (1636), Connecticut (1636), Delaware (1638), New Hampshire (1638), North Carolina (1652), South Carolina (1663), New Jersey (1664), Pennsylvania (1682), Georgia (1732). All were admitted to statehood in 1787 - 1789.

Shortly after independence, Vermont (1791), Kentucky (1792) and Tennessee (1796) were admitted to statehood.

Land Area 1790 - 2000



American colonists issued paper currency to finance the Revolutionary War. Without solid backing and easily counterfeited, the notes quickly became devalued.

After independence, there was at first a curious hodgepodge of coins and a bewildering variety of state and national paper bills. In 1785, the Continental Congress adopted the dollar as the unit for national currency.

The U.S. Constitution established that the entire nation was a unified or "common" market. The federal government could regulate commerce with foreign nations and among the states; establish uniform bankruptcy laws; coin money and regulate its value. The U.S. Mint, which makes all U.S. coins, was established by Congress in 1792. The first American coins were struck in 1793.

1860 - 1890 | 1900 - 1999
Price Index
Value of the Dollar 1800 - 2000

Any reference obtained from this server to a specific commercial product, process, or service does not constitute or imply an endorsement by the United States Government of the product, process, or service, or its producer or provider. The views and opinions expressed in any referenced document do not necessarily state or reflect those of the United States Government.
U.S. Diplomatic Mission to Germany /Public Affairs/ Information Resource Centers 
Updated: April 2006